2022 Booktube, Reading, & Blogging Intentions

Happy New Year!! I know the last couple of years haven’t been great, but I wish you a happy and healthy 2022!!

It’s that time of year when we set goals – life goals, work goals, reading goals, etc.

I’m going to do my best to try and keep my goals simple and manageable. And since 2020 was still a raging dumpster fire most of my goals went out the window.

Alrighty then, let’s talk about my 2022 goals intentions. 

Booktube Channel Intentions

If you didn’t know, I have a Booktube Channel, and it’s 2.5 years old now. I’ve never really talked about it here, but I figure I’ve been doing it for a while and I’m slightly comfortable with the content I produce. I have a few plams I’d like to accomplish in 2022 as it relates to my channel.

  1. Last year I had a goal to have 1K subscribers by March.  That didn’t happen, but I did eventually achieve my goal. I’m not setting a subscriber goal this year. It’s too stressful and I really want to focus on creating content I enjoy and will feel proud of vs content for clicks and subscribers
  2. A goal was to do more collabs and I did in various ways. I hosted The Traveling Annotation with Emmarae (Emmarae Empowered) and Cemetery Boys Discussion with Adri (Perpetual Pages). I was also a guest host for several live books discussions and a cohost for Blackoweenathon. So, I will definitely mark that as completed. And, I plan to continue collabrating with other creators in 2022
  3. This is not only a Booktube goal, but also a blogging goal. I want to be more consistent with uploading content. My goal is post here and my booktube channel at least twice a week
  4. When I started my channel, I wanted to deep dives into the books I read and so far that has not happened. I intend on changing that in 2022. My plan is once or twice a month do a detailed review which will include some critical analysis
  5. And my last booktube intention is to do a quarterly video essay.

Blogging Intentions

Nothing much is going to change. I still plan on doing the following:

  • Book Blog Discussion
  • Top Ten Tuesday
  • Book Reviews
  • Friday 56
  • Monthly Wrap Up

Reading Goals Intentions

In 2022 I want to keep my reading goals, intentions, or plans manageable and not complicated.

Goodreads / The Storygraph – I’m not crazy concerned with the number of books I read in a year. In 2021, I set my Goodreads/The Storygraph reading goal to 24 books, which I achived. I’ll be keeping my reading goal the same in 2022 partly because I like the number and I’m pretty sure I can read two books per month.

Nonfiction – I don’t read a lot of nonfiction and that is something I would like to change in 2022. My plan is to read at least one nonfiction a month

Netgalley – This is an ongoing problem. Netgalley is my nemesis. Currently, I have 23 ARCs on my shelf and my Netgalley score is a whopping 62%, so I really need to (1) stop requesting ARCs and (2) read and review the ARCs I’ve already been approved for. Easy Peasy, right? We shall see.

Every year, I scour the interwebs in search of new and exciting reading challenges; however, this year I didn’t. I’m sticcking with the theory – less is more. I have 5 reading challenges I’m participating in. You may be thinking that’s a lot, but it really isn’t.

The following challenges are returning because, well, if I’m being honest, I didn’t come close to completing them. If you’re interested in joining feel free to join the challenges over on The Storygraph

  • The Count of Monte Cristo slow read is returning because well, that crashed and burned early onThe plan: from January 2nd to March 11th, 2022, I’ll read The Count of Monte Cristo. I was enjoying it, but I just didn’t have the time to dedicate to it. And, if you’re interested in reading this with me, click the link to join the Storygraph group.
  • The Zora Neale Hurston Reading Project. I’ve wanted to read more Hurston since I read Their Eyes Were Watching God, so I decided to turn it into a multi-year project whereby I will be reading all of her availble works. Click the link to join the challenge by heading over to Storygraph.
  • Reading Classic Books Challenge is a challenge I created in 2020. This year’s challenge is called Reading Classic Books: World Edition. I wanted to challenge myself and you to read more classics from around the world. The challenge has 24 prompts – 12 challenge prompts and 12 bonus prompts.  You can find details and join HERE, on The Storygraph, and on Goodreads.
  • And my last challenge is to focus on reading the books I already own. In 2021 my TBR exploded exponentially. I did a lot and I mean A LOT of retail therapy

Other Challenges

Book Blog Discussion Challenge is a challenge I enjoyed, so I’ll be doing this again. I would love nothing more than to have the Gift of Gab (41+ posts for the year), but that’s not going to happen. Have to stay honest with myself. The reality is I’ll be closer to Creative Conversationalist, which is 11-20 posts for the year.

And, that’s it. Personally, I think that’s enough. 

In the comments let me know if you’ve made any bookish (or non bookish) goals for 2022. 

Happy-New-Year-2022-1

🗣Confab Here!🗣

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.