Weekend Coffee Share – Friday Reads 3/22

Happy Friday!

So this week has been pretty uneventful. I was sick and took a couple of days off. 

Peanut Update

There’s not to much of a Peanut update. Well, that’s not wholly true. She started training because Oh. My. Gosh. she is in need of obedience training. She is super stubborn which makes training a lot harder and more time consuming; but she is a super smart cookie. She now knows: sit, stay, wait (for food), eat (kind of). She does wait for her food to be in place, but pretty much as soon as I move out of the way she’s headed for her dog bowl. 

She has a bit of separation anxiety which we’re working on. If I leave the room she’s hot on my heels. And she has a tendency to sit right behind me. We’re also working on attentiveness – getting her primed for better leash skills. She’s doing better at that. But she is failing the door control training. Whenever I open the door she plows through it. But we shall get there.

👇🏾👇🏾

Peanut hearing a couple of dogs barking and feels she must be a part of the conversation. 

IMG_2170

Peanut using a fallen tree to take in the scenery.

IMG_3448


What I’ve Been Reading?

It’s been a pretty slow reading week.

Screenshot 2024-03-22 at 5.36.26 PMThe last book I was reading, The Dead Take the A Train by Cassandra Khaw and Richard Kadrey, I DNF’d at 50%. I just couldn’t get into it, which is really unfortunate because it had a lot of what I like in horror – cosmic horror, demons, the supernatural, magic. 

I’m convinced that perhaps Cassandra Khaw is not the author for me. It was announced earlier in the year that a sequel was in the works. No idea when it’s coming out, but maybe by the time it comes out I will have changed my mind and read The Dead Take the A Train. Maybe.

Screenshot 2024-03-22 at 7.49.05 PMThe book that I had up after The Dead Take the A Train was Yoke of Stars by R. B. Lemburg. I haven’t gotten to that one yet. Instead I picked up Maeve Fly by C. J. Leede. Shame on me. I’ve been seeing this book pop up in my Instagram feed quite a bit and a couple of book clubs I belong to have read it or are reading it now. So, I figured why not give it a go.

Read Down My Owned TBR

Like I said last week this not going well AT ALL. As you saw in last week’s post. I bought a few books and checked out some books from the library. I need to figure something out. I have officially run out of space and need to purge. I’m participating in a couple of reading challenges (12 Friends 12 Recommendations and 24 in 24) and all the books on my list are on my owned TBR and some of them are on both lists. 

If you have any suggestions for activating my reading let me know. 

Let me know what you’ve been up to.

Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Natalie at Natalie the Explorer

2 thoughts on “Weekend Coffee Share – Friday Reads 3/22

  1. Natalie March 23, 2024 / 7:50 pm

    Erica, I activate my reading by picking up a small book in my favourite genre and set a small goal to read one chapter per evening. I usually end up reading more. If a book doesn’t grab my attention, I move on to another book. I borrow books from the library and have been reading e-books exclusively since COVID started. Good luck with your reading and puppy training. Thank you for your weekend coffee share.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. trentpmcd March 23, 2024 / 9:20 am

    Hi Erica! I haven’t seen much of you in a while. Puppy training is always fun and Peanut seems to be keeping you busy. I hope you enjoy your weekend and have a wonderful week ahead!

    Liked by 1 person

🗣Confab Here!🗣

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.