The Friday 56 – Petals of Blood by Ngũgĩ wa Thiong’o

The Friday 56 is a weekly meme hosted over at Freda’s Voice. The rules are simple and go something like this.

Friday 561.  Grab a book, any book.
2.  Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader (If you have to improvise, that’s ok.)
3.  Find any sentence, (or a few, just don’t spoil it)
4.  Post it.
5.  Add the post url, not your blog url to the Linky.
6. Tweet it #Friday56 (not an official Freda’s Voice rule)

Hi all, it’s been a long time since I posted here, which I won’t get into at this time. But know that I have missed blogging and our interactions. 

Having said that my plan is to slowly get back to talking about books on this platform, and what better way to do that than with a Friday 56. So let’s get to it!

I found this some time ago at one of my favorite used bookshops. What caught me was the cover. I was in the mood for some horror and and cover .  . . well, spoke horror. It, however, is not horror. So rats on that, but it is a mystery (Yay!!) set in Kenya and written by a Kenyan author. So, double and triple Yay! Anyway, it sounds interesting and I can’t wait to dive into this.

I was returning from a trip to the HQ in Ruwa-ini. I had not stopped anywhere because I was thinking of Wanja’s appeal the night before. I so wanted to take her home – walk her to her hut –  she and I – alone – in the dark. Inside, I was scared of this possession, of the way she had taken my heart prisoner so that she could say so coolly: and you’ll bring me a pound of the long-grained rice: and my whole being so ready to obey. I had gone to every shop in Ruwa-ini. I had bought the rice. Everything was so ready for tonight’s celebration of a harvest. And now who was this stranger?

Petals of Blood pg. 57

Have you read it? If so, what did you think?

Stay safe and Happy reading!

add to goodreads[5]

7 thoughts on “The Friday 56 – Petals of Blood by Ngũgĩ wa Thiong’o

  1. Becki September 29, 2020 / 8:20 am

    Sounds like a strong female character. If the narrator really loves her, I think they’ll learn she’s changed since they met… Thanks for sharing and enjoy your week!

    Like

  2. Jean @ Howling Frog September 25, 2020 / 6:57 pm

    Good to see you! I’ve been wanting to read Ngũgĩ wa Thiong’o for a long time, but when I tried with A Grain of Wheat, I couldn’t get into it. Maybe Petals of Blood could be my solution?

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Broken Spine September 28, 2020 / 8:28 pm

      Thanks Jean! I’m looking forward to getting back into blogging. I’m still trying to figure out how to maintain the blog and my booktube channel.

      Liked by 1 person

    • The Broken Spine September 28, 2020 / 8:31 pm

      Thanks! I’m excited to get to read it. I have a shorter work by him that I might read first. I’ve heard nothing but good things about him.

      Like

  3. Claire 'Word by Word' September 25, 2020 / 12:23 pm

    I’ve wanted to read this author for some time and funnily enough he was mentioned in the text of The Book of Not that I just finished reading, a sign perhaps. 🤔

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Broken Spine September 28, 2020 / 8:33 pm

      Hi Claire, I love it when books and/or authors are mentioned in other books. And, yes, this is a sign that you should read it. I’m looking forward to reading it, myself.

      Like

🗣Confab Here!🗣

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.