6° of Separation with a Twist

Hi all, this year I’m a blog host for Biannual Bibliothon. The Bibliothon runs from July 14th- July 20th, so mark your calendars. My host day is July 17th, so be sure to stop back by and link up your challenge post.

Please note, I’m borrowing this topic from Kate over at Books Are My Favourite and Best.

I’m sure everyone is familiar with Six Degrees of Separation. You know the game that became popular with Six Degrees of Kevin Bacon. It says that everything is related in six or fewer steps. And, yes that includes books.

So, how does it work?

Step 1: Pick a book from the choices below (seems pretty obvious, I know)
Step 2: Link book with 6 other books
Step 3: Leave your link in comments section
Step 4: Check back and Add more books to your TBR

Feel free to link them however you like – by author, genre, theme, etc. or they may be linked by some personal experience. And because finding 6 books to link wasn’t enough, I’ve decided to throw in a little twist.

Twist: All the books you choose have to include some type of diversity.

Here are a few books to choose from:

 

I loved Sherman Alexie’s The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian. The only reason I even picked this book up was because it was banned/challenged for inappropriate content. Woohoo!

It’s semi-autobiographical and is about a teenage Native American boy who decides to go to white high school in town versus the high school on the Indian Reservation. It tells the story of how he is treated at the white high school, how his best friend treats his decision, his first crush.

 

I added Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson to the list of choices because in this age of Me Too, I think it’s important.

Melinda, the main character, is left ostracized by her fellow classmates after experiencing a traumatic event. Because of the event Melinda goes through depression. And the only way out is by finding her voice in art class.

 

Kindred written by African-American Octavia E. Butler. She is hailed as the first African-American female Science Fiction writer. Kindred is the story of Dana, an African-American woman in 1970s California who is transported to Antebellum Maryland. And by the way her husband is white.

 

I added A Day in the Life of Marlon Bundo by Jill Twiss. I love it. I bought it because the proceeds go the Trevor Project and Aids United. The Trevor Project is a non=profit focused on suicide prevention among lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and questioning youth.

Marlon Bundo is about a Very Special boy bunny who falls in love with another boy bunny. It explores issues of same sex marriage and democracy. It’s funny, and is dedicated to every bunny who has ever felt different.

Have fun with the challenge and join me right back here on Tuesday, July 17th for my very own 6° of Separation.

3 thoughts on “6° of Separation with a Twist

🗣Confab Here!🗣

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.